The Shingo Fujii Young Doctors Summit (YDS) is a one-day session held prior to the Global Meeting of the IGCS with the goal of bringing together early career doctors from all over the world for a day of education and networking. The Summit was first offered in 2012 with a very generous donation from IGCS Past President, Prof. Shingo Fujii (Japan). IGCS is committed to continue Prof. Fujii’s vision to provide early career doctors with this unique opportunity to  build relationships with peers from around the globe. Early career doctors from low-income economies may apply for a YDS travel grant to offset travel expenses.

2019 Shingo Fujii Young Doctors Summit

Applications for the 2019 Shingo Fujii Young Doctors Summit Travel Grant will be accepted through March 27, 2019. IGCS Members from low- and lower-middle income countries who have not received the grant in the past are eligible.

Download the 2019 YDS Application and send the completed form to no later than March 27, 2019.

This year, the Shingo Fujii Young Doctors Summit Grant Recipients and all meeting attendees have the choice to attend one of two sessions listed below. A special reception for young doctors will be held that evening to allow early career professionals an opportunity to network and socialize.

  • Learning from the Experts: IGCS 2019 Surgical Course
    Chairs: Gustavo Guitmann and Audrey Tsunoda
  • Clinical Application of Molecular Genetics to the Classification and Staging of Endometrial Cancer: A Multidisciplinary and Interactive Course
    Chairs: Jaime Prat and Donal Brennan

Both sessions will be held in Rio de Janeiro on Thursday, September 19, 2019 from 8:00 AM – 1:00 PM. Session descriptions and objectives will be posted as the meeting approaches. Pre-registration is not required for these sessions as they will be open to all meeting registrants.


2018 Travel Grant Recipients

Adu Appiah-Kubi (Ghana)
Brian Prima Artha (Indonesia)
Donalyn Sepina Barcial (Philippines)
Satjeet Kaur Deol (India)
Gonzalo Devoto (Argentina)
Charlene Flores (Philippines)
Ahmed Yehia Abdelbadee Hefnawy (Egypt)
Nodira Tursunova Isroilovna (Uzbekistan)

Vandana Jain (India)
Sabrina Kadir (Bangladesh)
Aisha Mustapha (Nigeria)
Henny Meitri Andrie Rachmasari Putri (Indonesia)
Sneha Raj (India)
Malala Mampionona M. Razakanaivo (Madagascar)
Kathleen Gizelle Samonte-Alfonso (Philippines)
Anuj Shrestha (Nepal)


2016 Travel Grant Recipients

Mark Antonio (Philippines)
Raikhan Bolatbetkova (Kazakhstan)
Salome Charkviani (Georgia)
Georgia Fontes Cintra     (Brazil)
Kenneth Cinedu Ekwedigwe (Nigeria)
Juilana Figueiredo (Brazil)
Joel Fokom Domgue (Cameroon)
Andriy Hrybanov (Ukraine)
Nirmala Chandralega Kampan (Malaysia)
Havva Karabuga (Turkey)
Rohini Vinayak  Kulkarni (India)
Bainary Macaurog (Philippines)

Iryna Muryzina (Ukraine)
Alex Mutombo (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Sravanthi Nuthalapati    (India)
Rohit Raghunath Ranade (India)
Saken Serikov (Kazakhstan)
Daramola Ebunoluwa Seun (Nigeria)
Anbukkani Subbian (India)
Zhong Zheng (China)