Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizes individual(s) who have performed an outstanding service and accomplishment spanning their career in gynecologic oncology. The goal is to recognize a life of excellence and service to gynecologic oncology. Formerly referred to as the Award for Excellence in Gynecologic Oncology.

2022 Recipient: Jonathan S. Berek, MD, MMSc | USA

2021 Recipients:
Beth Y. Karlan, MD | USA
Michael Quinn, AM, MGO | Australia

2020 Recipients:
Monica Bacon, RN | Canada
Nicoletta Colombo, MD, PhD | Italy

2019 Recipient: Sergio Pecorelli, MD, PhD | Italy
2018 Recipient: Henry Kitchener, MD | UK
2016 Recipient: Ali Ayhan, MD | Turkey

2014 Recipients:

David M. Gershenson, MD | USA
William J. Hoskins, MD | USA

2012 Recipients:
Amodio Denny De Petrillo, MD | Canada
Michael Friedlander, MD | Australia

2010 Recipients:
Robert F. Ozols, MD | USA
Robert C. Young, MD | USA

2008 Recipients:
Neville Hacker, MD | Australia
Peter Heintz, MD |  The Netherlands
Gillian Thomas, MD  | Canada

2006 Recipient: Robert C. Bast, Jr., MD | USA

2004 Recipients:
William T. Creasman, MD | USA
Philip J. DiSaia, MD | USA

2002 Recipient: Daniel Dargent, MD | France
2000 Recipient: John L Lewis, Jr., MD | USA
1999 Recipient: IGCS Education Committee

Outstanding Achievement in Gynecologic Oncology Surgery Award

Recognizes gynecologic oncologists who have had a sustained career in academic surgery and have made seminal contributions in clinical surgery or surgical education that established new benchmarks or paradigms.

2022 Recipient: Pedro T. Ramirez, MD | USA
2021 Recipient: Pierluigi Benedetti Panici, MD | Italy
2019 Recipient: Manuel Penalver, MD | USA

Global Humanitarian Award

Recognizes outstanding individuals, organizations or programs who work to improve access to quality gynecologic oncology services in low to middle income countries.

2022 Recipients: Olha Hoptyana (Ukraine) and the Polish Society of Gynecologic Oncology
2021 Recipient:
Tri Dinh, MD | USA
2018 Recipient: Edward Trimble, MD, MPH and the NCI Center for Global Health | USA
2016 Recipient: Lynette Denny, MD, PhD  | South Africa

Excellence in Teaching Award

Recognizes individuals deeply committed to the profession whose work and accomplishments set a standard of excellence. This award recognizes the importance of teaching as an integral part of women’s cancer care and the lasting impact of educators to shape and inspire future generations of clinicians and researchers.

2022 Recipient: David Atallah, MD, MSc | Lebanon

2021 Recipients:
Nadeem Abu-Rustum, MD | USA
Hextan YS Ngan, MD | Hong Kong
Andreas Obermair, MD | Australia

2020 Recipient: Rahel Ghebre, MD, MPH | USA
2019 Recipient: Groesbeck Parham, MD | USA/Zambia
2018 Recipient: Peter Heintz, MD, PhD | The Netherlands
2016 Recipient: Michael Bookman, MD  | USA

Award for Community Advancement in Resource-Limited Settings

Acknowledges those improving their own communities with dedication to providing or facilitating advanced medical education and training in resource-limited settings to improve screening, prevention, and treatment of women affected by gynecologic cancer.

2022 Recipient: Cesaltina Lorenzoni, MD, MsC, MPH, PhD | Mozambique

2021 Recipients: 
Asima Mukhopadhyay, MBBS, DGO, MD, MRCOG, CCT (Gyn Oncology), PhD, MSc | India/UK
René Pareja, MD | Colombia

2019 Recipient: Jorge Saad Souen, MD | Brazil
2018 Recipient: Agnes Binagwaho, MD, PhD | Rwanda
2016 Recipient: Kathleen Schmeler, MD | USA

Dicey Scroggins Distinguished Advocate Award

This award recognizes advocates and/or advocacy organizations that provide active, dedicated service to patients/survivors, families, and caregivers—on a local, regional, or international level—and persistently engage in the fight against gynecologic and other cancers. In 2022, this award was renamed after Mary "Dicey" Jackson Scroggins.

2021 Recipients:
Elisabeth Baugh & Ovarian Cancer Canada | Canada
Murat Gultekin, MD | Turkey
Abhishek Shankar, MD | India

2020 Recipients:
Nathalie Dauphin McKenzie, MD & Innovating Health International | USA/Haiti
Runcie Chidebe & Project PINK BLUE | Nigeria
Ovarian Cancer Research Alliance | USA

2019 Recipients:
Venus Ginés | USA
Miho Katagi | Japan
Benda Kithaka and Women4Cancer Early Detection & Treatment | Kenya

Leave a Reply