Distinguished Advocacy Award


The IGCS Distinguished Advocacy Award was conceived by Dicey Scroggins when she came into the role of IGCS’ Director of Global Outreach and Engagement in 2018. Dicey passed away on August 1, 2022, leaving an incredible legacy of activism, inclusivity, and focus, enabling new opportunities for all.

In her honor, this award is now called the Dicey Scroggins Distinguished Advocate Award. This award recognizes advocates and advocacy organizations that provide active, dedicated service to patients/survivors, families, and caregivers—on a local, regional, or international level—and persistently engage in the fight against gynecologic and other cancers.

When we honor the esteemed patient advocates among us with this award, we will honor everything Dicey stood for, and everything she hoped could be achieved.

2021 Recipients

Elisabeth Baugh and
Ovarian Cancer Canada  (OCC)     

Murat Gultekin, MD       

Abhishek Shankar, MD

Leave a Reply